Delete a Workplace user account
You must be a system admin to delete a person's Workplace account. If you would like your own account to be deleted, contact your system admin.
If you're an admin of your Workplace, you can only delete user accounts which are deactivated or have never been claimed. If you want to remove access to a user account but don't want to delete the user's data, you should deactivate the account rather than delete it.
Note: Deleting an individual user’s profile is different from deleting your organization’s Workplace.
What happens when you delete a user account
If you delete a user account, be aware that:
- This action cannot be undone.
- The user will no longer be able to log into Workplace.
- You will not see them in the People section of the Admin Panel.
- The user's posts, comments and messages will be permanently deleted.
- Your coworkers won't be able to see the account on Workplace.
- It may take up to 90 days for all of the user's interactions to be deleted.
- Any content from other users that is dependent on the deleted users' content (example: comments on the deleted users' posts) will also be deleted.
- While we're deleting this information, it will be inaccessible to other people using Workplace.
- Some of the things people do on Workplace aren’t stored in their accounts. For example, a coworker may still have messages from a deleted user's account even after it's been deleted.
Delete a Workplace user account from your computer
- Click Admin Panel in the left menu on Workplace.
- Click People.
- Find the person whose account you want to delete. You can use Add filter to speed up your search.
- Click More options next to the name of person you want to delete.
- Click Delete account.
- Remember that you can only delete user accounts which are deactivated or have never been claimed.
- Review the information, then click Delete account.